wissen.de Artikel

Regions of Great Britain


  • Population: 49.5 million
  • Area: 130,395 sq km
  • Population density: 380 people per sq km
  • Capital: London (population 7.1 million)

Unlike Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, England has no separate elected national body or government department responsible for its central administration. English affairs are the responsibility of the UK government departments www.open.gov.uk in London.

In most of the country, local government is administered through a two-tier system of county and district councils. There are also a number of single-tier or unitary authorities, especially in larger cities.

The Government also wants to see more accountable regional government in England where there is demand for this. As a first step, nine Regional Development Agencies (RDAs) have been set up:

  • East
  • East Midlands
  • London
  • North East
  • North West and Merseyside
  • South East
  • South West
  • West Midlands
  • Yorkshire and the Humber

Mehr Artikel zu diesem Thema

Weitere Lexikon Artikel

Weitere Artikel aus der Wissensbibliothek

Weitere Artikel aus dem Wahrig Synonymwörterbuch

Weitere Artikel aus dem Wahrig Fremdwörterlexikon